Software Defined Radio – SDR… it rocks!   Leave a comment

Got myself a Realtek 2832U a.k.a RTLSDR DVB Dongle a while ago.. got sick of list listening to police/fire/ambo’s etc (cool as that is) so now I’m after more!’

I’ll write up the local frequencies in use here when I get a chance, sadly there’s no simple ‘scanner’ application for these radios yet so it’s manual ‘scope staring to find signals.

There’s not a lot of FM voice around but heaps of chips and whistles all over the place.. that means data!
Aha.. something I can sniff..
Now this isn’t easy or commonly done, there are few complete codesets around that do anything like what I want. A shame I can’t code, but I’ll try and do what I can with what’s around.

Posted August 14, 2012 by benryanau in Hacking, Radio, Wireless

Tagged with , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

